bigpimpinmba's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Music Collection - Gone... Damn You MP3 Player. Damn you to HELL!!!

The hard drive on my friggin MP3 player crashed this weekend. I am so pissed. I guess you get what you pay for, since I bought this no-name brand player off Ebay last year. I have a huge collection of music on that piece of crap that could take me a long time to find again, since I�m more than a little nervous about downloading illegal stuff off the internet or peer-to-peer services now.

I guess since I have more to lose now than I did just 3 years ago, I�ve become a little more cautious about the choices I make. The whole house/ cars/ wife and two kids to support thing has apparently turned me into a bigger ninny than I thought.

When the question comes down to: �Hmmm. Should I download �My Niggas� by DMX and risk being sued for everything I�ve got or go to iTunes or some other site and pay the whole dollar that they are asking for. Not much of a decision these days. You win RIAA. You�ve scared me straight.

I�m thinking that my MP3 player breaking is God�s way of getting even with me for somehow justifying to myself that downloading several gigs worth of music is OK, since I�ve literally spent several thousand dollars on my music collection. Maybe, this time, when I go to find that rare Faith No More version of �Easy� (originally by the Commodores), I will actually pay for it. I don�t know, though. There is a lot of crappy music that I had that I�m not sure is worth paying for, but is always humorous to whip out at parties. I love having the ability to put together a mix that go from Sir Mix-A-Lot�s �Baby Got Back� to Tom Jones� �It�s Not Unusual� to NWA�s �Straight Outta Compton� to John Denver�s �Take Me Home Country Roads� or �Thank God I�m a Country Boy��.

That�s right. I�m talking John �flymyexperimentalplaneintoatree� Denver. That guy is a party staple at my home. No matter what type of music my Caucasian, 30-something friends choose to listen to, when my boy John Denver enters the mix, the whole party goes nuts. Get any of these people one on one and they will probably deny knowing any John Denver songs. However, get those same people in a group, introduce alcohol, and BAM! You�d think that John Denver himself was being channeled into the room. Perhaps not surprisingly, the same can be said for many Barry Manilow and Neil Diamond tunes. Sad, but true.

Some of the songs that I really can't be without:

-�Funk That� � Sagat

-�Sending all my love� � Linear

-�Rumours� � Timexx Social Club

-�Cake Boy� � Sir Mix A Lot

-�The Rain (Where do I begin)� � Oran �Juice� Jones

-�Eye of the Tiger� � Greenday (Live version where Billy is obviously quite wasted)

-�Nineteen� � Paul Hardcastle (Vietnam Song)

-�The Hardest Part of Breaking Up (Is Getting Back Your Stuff) � N2Gether

-"Doo Doo Brown" - Doo Doo Brown

-"Scenario" - A Tribe Called Quest

-"Momma Said Knock You Out" - LL Cool J (AKA Ladies Love Cool James)

-"Slam" - Onyx

-"My United States of Whatever" - Liam Lynch

-"You're My First, My Last, My Everything" - Barry White

-Random They Might Be Giants Songs

-Lots of 80's Dance Music (Also called Freestyle Music or Guido Music when you live at the Jersey Shore)

I don't have much of a choice as to whether I will download this music again. It is a matter of how I will do so. I wouldn't be able to stand it if someone else showed up at one of my friends parties and was DJ-ing in my place. I must maintain my Ninja-DJ status.

Wish me luck.

5:32 p.m. - 2004-07-12

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

BigpimpinMBA
Porktornado
Juddhole
DangerSpouse
purplecigar
Unclebob
rickscafe
rhidundantx2
hairburner
twobaddogs
sassykk
ubergrrl
hooterville
ayred-out
Sturge
goingloopy
gumphood
incredipete
sunshine0221
chickie-legs
sock-girlie
tothefloor
samanthaphi
autumnleigh
warcrygirl
kaybiff
mentalimages
ramblin-bill
saru-san
wombatcity
nogooddaddy
bethany9
poolagirl
discothekid
drbigbeef
yeahimadork
clarity25
awittykitty
bluemeany
thenumber9
hooch21