bigpimpinmba's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Go Sawwwks!!!

GOOOO SAWWWKS!!!!

This is baseball at its best. Sox-Yanks in October. For any of you non-baseball people out there, you are missing out on some of the greatest baseball ever played, including a truly heroic effort by Curt Schilling last night, where he pitched 7 great innings on a marginally surgically repaired ankle from a few days before (the sutures were barely holding and he was bleeding through his sock).

Anyone rooting for the Yankees, although you may be good people way down deep, I�m sorry to say that I hope you suffer horribly tonight and the Sox earn a well-deserved berth in the World Series.

I read last year on Bill Simmons (The Sports Guy) website. that rooting for the Yankees is like rooting for the House in Blackjack. I couldn�t come up with a better analogy, even if I had a year to do so (which I have).

I certainly can�t consider myself a true member of the long-suffering Red Sox Nation, but I�m trying my best and it doesn�t hurt that I LOVE talking with a Boston accent and saying wicked a whole lot.

I jumped on with the Sox a few years ago because of my long-time hatred of the Yankees. But last year really reeled me in. I even had a Nomar Garciapara jersey coming to me for my birthday this year before he got traded. Although this ended up better for all parties involved, there is no way that someone named NOMAAAAHHHHHH GAAAHHHCIAPAARRAAAAHHH should ever be allowed to play in another city. He would be wicked smahht to retiahhhh now so as not to tahnish his reputation.

For those of you who didn�t watch last year�s series between the Sox and Yanks, it was another classic, which ended with the Evil Empire (the Yankees) winning in Game 7 after Grady Little decided that he knew better than those couple of hits that Pedro Martinez had given up late in the game and ended up letting Pedro stay in for the eighth inning, with a 3-run lead, a bullpen that couldn�t be hit, and having barely made it out of the seventh in tact. That�s why Grady is no longer managing in baseball. My wife, who doesn�t even care about the Red Sox was yelling at Grady to take Pedro out and couldn�t believe that he was even put on the mound in the eighth inning of that game.

I was so upset after that game, that I could barely sleep and was all too angry for a week after these millionaires who couldn�t care about me in the least had finished playing for the season. Why do sports even matter this much? I have no idea.

Before that, in Game 3, some may remember that Pedro had a little run in with Don Zimmer, the not-too-svelte, 74 year old assistant coach for the Empire. The incident started when Pedro threw behind one of the Yankees batters as a warning. This brought both benches out onto the field for the typical pushing, pointing and manly, �You�re lucky I�m being held back� crap that goes on after stuff like a warning pitch. Zimmer, or as I like to call him, Darth Vader without the helmet on, had another idea about gaining retribution.

Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

I Always pictured Darth Vader as a little taller in real life

Our boy Zim came charging out of the dugout and took a run at Pedro, who basically stepped aside of the charging bull that was the Zimster, putting his hand in Zim�s face to emphasize the �Ole! Zim went flying and literally bounced on the ground. I�m not sure I�ve ever laughed so hard as when they kept showing the replay of the Zimmer bounce.*

Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

*Disclaimer - I normally don�t think it�s funny to see old people get hurt, but this guy really brought it on himself and deserved to be tossed aside like a used Hilton sister.

So, cheer for the Sawwks tonight to pull off the biggest comeback in baseball history, unless you are a heartless jerk who doesn�t like puppies and babies. Then, we have a Yankees Jetah jersey for you. It�s more fun to cheer for the Sawwks anyway just so you can throw the word Chowdah in at any random moment.

3:24 p.m. - 2004-10-20

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

BigpimpinMBA
Porktornado
Juddhole
DangerSpouse
purplecigar
Unclebob
rickscafe
rhidundantx2
hairburner
twobaddogs
sassykk
ubergrrl
hooterville
ayred-out
Sturge
goingloopy
gumphood
incredipete
sunshine0221
chickie-legs
sock-girlie
tothefloor
samanthaphi
autumnleigh
warcrygirl
kaybiff
mentalimages
ramblin-bill
saru-san
wombatcity
nogooddaddy
bethany9
poolagirl
discothekid
drbigbeef
yeahimadork
clarity25
awittykitty
bluemeany
thenumber9
hooch21