bigpimpinmba's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm Going Loopy answering these questions

Hola Senors and Senoritas. I welcome you once again to another installment of Lifestyles of the Pimped and Unfamous. Today, I�m being interviewed by the very amusing diarist, GoingLoopy. I threw some interview questions to her a while back and she answered them HERE, so go check that out for your reading pleasure.

GoingLoopy
What made you decide to be an engineer...and then what made you decide to get an MBA?

I didn�t really decide to be an engineer. Many people don�t know that an engineering degree is a prerequisite if you want to get a Masters in Interpretive Dance.

Actually, my father is an electrical engineer and I always had a proclivity towards science and math. I started out as a Computer Science major at Glassboro State before I foolishly decided that I would rather not spend my life in front of a computer, writing code. So, now, I get to spend a great deal of my time in front of my computer writing reports. Ain�t life a bitch?

I was doing relatively well in my chemistry courses, so I decided that I would become a chemist. When I spoke to my guidance counselor at Glassboro, and asked him what the difference between a chemist and a chemical engineer was, he told me that the real difference was about $20,000 to $40,000 per year. It took a few lessons of greater than/ less than in my classes, so I realized that Chemist +20-40K per year = better. So, I took my show on the road and transferred to NJIT (New Jersey Institute of Technology) in lovely Newark, New Jersey to get an engineering degree. I don�t know how I actually received a diploma, but I know that my Uncle Tony from Brooklyn paid a late night visit to the Dean�s house and a lot of things were better in the morning and I was graduating. Weird, huh?

As for the MBA� Contrary to my moniker of BigPimpinMBA, I do not yet have the illustrious MBA yet. I�m a complete hack and a sham and wouldn�t blame any of you if you decided that you didn�t want me as your friend any more as a result. However, as long as everything goes well, I will graduate in December and there will be much celbrating at the PimpAbode.

Again, the MBA wasn�t really a decision. Three of my peers at work all went for their MBAs at the same time when I first started at my job and when they all finished, they all kind of looked at me with the �when are you going to get off your ass and do something with your life?� look. So, since they were paying for it, I figured, �What the H-E-Double Hockey Sticks?� And I was accepted to Rutgers and started taking classes part time.

In the Spring of 2000.

That�s right. I�ve been chipping at this slowly for what will be 6 years by the time I graduate. It was actually a running joke in my classes with full time students I knew who were in my Pharmaceutical Management courses� I took off a semester when we had each of our kids and when we were moving from our condo to our house. I�ve been taking my sweet time with it.

But now, I NEED to get this done, so I�m taking two courses this summer and two in the fall and I will be done. I can�t friggin wait.

GoingLoopy
How did you meet your wife? Was there a "she's the one" moment?

I met my wife at a swingers club back in the early nineties. I was there trolling for midget swingers and she was sitting down, so I thought that was close enough�

We actually met when we lived across the hall from each other at an apartment complex at Glassboro State College many moons ago. ( I have 1/8 American Indian � Chippewa � in my blood, so I can say things like, �Many moons ago� without you jackasses making fun of me.) It was actually the Fall of 1992, the semester before I transferred to NJIT for my engineering degree.

We had the typical college relationship of hooking up, walks of shame and many a drunken night out together. We had an immediate bond of having way too much fun and laughing way too hard and talking way too loud together. We clicked immediately.

When I transferred to NJIT, we kept in touch by phone and otherwise and we made an official, dating couple in my senior year and have been together ever since, except for a couple of minor breaks thrown in.

After a whirlwind 7-year romance, (and several of my friends caving before me) I popped the question by writing a song and recording it and popping it into the cassette deck of my truck in the summer of 1999. We were married on September 2, 2000. (Shit, we�re coming up on 5 years� I�ve got to do something for this anniversary! Thanks for reminding me.)

Was there a �she�s the one� moment? I think we both knew all along that we were destined to be together and grow old together and make some cute kids along the way, but, unfortunately for the movie version of my life, I don�t think there was one moment�

She puts up with my obnoxious, balding, mushy-bellied self, so that was a plus. And she went along with all of my idiotic Jimmy Buffett concert insanity. And she likes to laugh a lot.

And it doesn�t hurt that she�s beautiful.

We were just meant to be together.

GoingLoopy
What is your funniest childhood memory? Your happiest? Your saddest?

Sweet funky Moses� Childhood memories� I�d better get a bottle of Tequila for this one�

Really, though, I had about as average of a childhood as you could imagine. I am admittedly ADD and have an absolutely atrocious memory, so it may seem like a bit of a cop out when I say that I have very few memories of childhood.

I can�t think of anything particularly hysterical about my childhood, except that I was completely oblivious to the fact that my best friend Mike was a flaming homosexual and I had no clue back then. I saw him a few years later after he moved away and couldn�t believe he wasn�t a girl dressed in boys clothes. Oy Vey.

I do know that some of my happiest memories involved playing Star Wars or War in the woods with my friends and opening presents like the Millenium GD Falcon on Christmas Morning�

I also love to remember just laying on my Mom�s lap while she scratched my back.

I am the middle child, stuck between two sisters and I was definitely the typical middle child. Pretty laid back and lost in the shuffle most of the time. That�s where I think I initially developed my sense of humor� as a way to stand out.

Saddest memory: When I watched my pet parakeet die. It had been sick for quite a while with a tumor that pressed on its� leg and made him unable to use his leg� Very sad. My mother used to sit under that bird cage and smoke� I used to tell her that she was going to give my bird cancer and, sure as shit, my bird got cancer.

I came home from school and he was just hanging around on the bottom of the cage and tried a few times to get back up on his perch, but couldn�t. I took him out of the cage and held him for a while and he literally died in my hands. I was heartbroken. We couldn�t have dogs or cats because my Dad was allergic, so that bird was the only pet I could have. Poor little guy.

GoingLoopy
What was your first "holy shit, I'm a fucking grownup" moment?

There is no moment that makes you say, �Holy Shit. I�ve really got someone relying on me now� more than having your first child. And the real moment of truth isn�t when that baby comes screaming into the world from your wife. Nope.

It�s when they send you home from the hospital with that baby. While you�re in the hospital, you�ve got help all around you.

Nurses and Doctors are there to answer any question you have. They�ve seen it all and can help you.

It�s when you leave that hospital with that tiny little baby in your back seat that it really hits you�. I�ve got to actually take care of this little guy. He�s got nothing else in the world but the love of his Mommy and Daddy. Without us, he wouldn�t be able to do anything. You hold his little hand and look at how tiny and vulnerable he is.

It. Is. Frightening.

And the people in the hospital are letting us take him home alone?

Don�t they see the terror in our faces? Don�t they know that we are only kids playing grown-up? How the hell are we supposed to handle this?

But you do.

Handle it.

Because you don�t have a choice.

And because you love that little guy in the crib more than you could imagine even though you�ve only met him recently.

He came from me and my wife.

We made him.

And it�s our responsibility to take care of him all by ourselves.

THAT is when you grow up real quick-like and say, �HOLY SHIT! I�m a grown up.�

GoingLoopy
What made you decide to start an online diary? Do your friends and family know about it? Do you think you'll ever stop having a diary, or lock it, or switch screen names...and if so, what would make you do that?

I started this atrocity after reading Pork Tornado�s now famous album cover entry. I read it, poked around his site a little more and then poked around a few of his favorites (notably Judd�s and decided that I could probably make some people laugh, so I signed up for the free account and was sucked in with the Gold a few days later.

Although there may be a bit of serious here and there, I really only do this to make people laugh. Because that�s what I like to do more than anything in this world. I wish I had the sharp wit and writing skills of Pork, but I know my limitations, so I write here and there and won�t be making a profession of it anytime soon.

Would I lock up?

I can�t see that ever happening. I think most people lock up because they talk smack about specific people or write stuff that they don�t feel comfortable sharing with the populace as a whole. I don�t think I do that at all. I poke more fun of myself or make fun of people I know can take a joke.

I could never abandon the BigPimpinMBA moniker. It still makes me laugh� I came up with it when signing up for an AOL Instant Messenger account during one of my Grad classes to make the other �chatters� laugh and it kind of stuck.

Thanks again to GoingLoopy for the interview and make sure to click over and read about her hijinks. She�s definitely a good read and I�ll be sad if you don�t give her a clickety-click over there.

And I also know that I owe a few interviews to Ramblin-Bill and TheOtherChad. I promise I�ll get to them eventually.

--------------------------------

Oh yeah�. I almost forgot�

Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Here we go again.

Damn, we�re good.

9:24 a.m. - 2005-06-16

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

BigpimpinMBA
Porktornado
Juddhole
DangerSpouse
purplecigar
Unclebob
rickscafe
rhidundantx2
hairburner
twobaddogs
sassykk
ubergrrl
hooterville
ayred-out
Sturge
goingloopy
gumphood
incredipete
sunshine0221
chickie-legs
sock-girlie
tothefloor
samanthaphi
autumnleigh
warcrygirl
kaybiff
mentalimages
ramblin-bill
saru-san
wombatcity
nogooddaddy
bethany9
poolagirl
discothekid
drbigbeef
yeahimadork
clarity25
awittykitty
bluemeany
thenumber9
hooch21