bigpimpinmba's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My writing

I�ve got to say that I'm pretty happy about the fact that I now have 30 people who have me on their favorites list here at D-Land. I'm not going to lie. The number of people reading my diary is kind of how I measure my "success". Maybe my thinking is flawed, but that's my thinking.

30 people is actually more people than I ever really thought would be interested in reading the nonsense that I write. Overnight, the lovely and talented Alwaysange. has added me as a favorite. Thank you very much Ms. Sange (if this is even correct). And thank all of you who take the time out of your lives to read the drivel that I put out.

Of course, one of the people who lists me as a favorite is me, so I guess I really haven�t made it to 30 officially yet, but I sometimes go back and read one of my entries and laugh a little, so I think it�s fair that I�m one of my favorite diaries. 30 it is!

I�m not really quite sure why I�m writing here except I read Porktornado and thought to myself, �Self, people sometimes tell you that you pretty funny. Maybe you could do that, only a little less funny and well written. Of course, they also tell you that you are a complete jackass and blabber about restraining orders and uncles with Italian-sounding last names getting even, but we�ll leave that for another day.� (From this point, I�ve found it�s a little confusing for me to write in the third person, so I�ll take it back to first person in order to stop confusing myself).

Well, I thought that I would take a stab at writing some of my experiences and thoughts down and putting them out there for anyone with an internet connection to read. In addition to the regular hijinks of my job and commuting, I figured that I have two pretty awesome kids who would give me a good amount of material to write about.

The first entry I had in my head was this entry about Urinals, but I didn't want to blow my best stuff on my first entry, so started off writing about my kids and a few other things before putting out what I still think is my funniest entry.

Whether people will think I�m funny or not was yet to be seen, but I figured I�d give it a try. I wrote a few things and the number of people reading was quite limited, but I got some feedback from some people, including the aforementioned Senor Pork, as well as Ubergrrl and Unclebob., which gave me some encouragement. Thank you to both of you for helping me out with some basic HTML and to Ubergrrl for helping me with my template. Then, I realized that I craved additional feedback and decided to spring for the Superduper comments section.

From some of the feedback I�ve gotten, I think I can say that people find some of my words at least mildly amusing. I�m know that I�m never going to be a great writer like Juddhole, Uncle Bob or PorkTornado, but I kind of like the outlet that this forum gives me.

For future reference, I just wanted to let all of you know that I really don�t intend to write anything too heavy, so you can pretty much count on my updates to at least be an attempt at humor. I�m a pretty upbeat person without much reason to be brooding, so, although I may occasionally bitch and be surly, I don�t think that my diary will ever read like the lyrics to a Cure album.

As I mentioned, my life has become hella-busy recently and it�s hard to find time to sit down and write, but I�m making an effort to post at least once a week.

I�d like to thank everyone who has left me comments, whether they were making fun of me, complimenting me, or just saying hi. I especially want to thank those of you who complimented me on my kids. For those of you without children, you should know that you NEVER get tired of hearing compliments about your kids. It is the single best thing on earth.

I know that this entry was kind of disjointed, but thanks for reading. Funnier stuff to follow�.

12:37 p.m. - 2004-10-08

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

BigpimpinMBA
Porktornado
Juddhole
DangerSpouse
purplecigar
Unclebob
rickscafe
rhidundantx2
hairburner
twobaddogs
sassykk
ubergrrl
hooterville
ayred-out
Sturge
goingloopy
gumphood
incredipete
sunshine0221
chickie-legs
sock-girlie
tothefloor
samanthaphi
autumnleigh
warcrygirl
kaybiff
mentalimages
ramblin-bill
saru-san
wombatcity
nogooddaddy
bethany9
poolagirl
discothekid
drbigbeef
yeahimadork
clarity25
awittykitty
bluemeany
thenumber9
hooch21